The temple of Kapnikarea complex four cruciform with the narthex and small domed chapel of Santa Barbara in the second side. Located on Ermou Street, and know the danger ran to be demolished in 1834 during the opening of the road to eventually saved by the intervention of Loudouvikou of Bavaria, Otto’s father. West added exonarthex originally open arcade form, South entrance added kinostirikto small porch in the 12th century.
The monument is built down with large blocks forming crosses on faction. From then on used normal cloisonné wherein the single brick dominates. The original church, the narthex and the chapel were built probably in the third quarter of the 11th century. The temple with the surrounding buildings gives the interior the impression of quiet spaciousness and external sense of grace, harmony Ms. uplifting, with the escalation of roofs and alternating straight lines and curves.
For the history of the church is nothing known. Traditionally called church of princess and Prentza. The name Kapnikarea, with the peculiar ending, which recalls local Athenian linguistic tradition, probably associated with a family name Kapnikarea, which is the collector of excise duty (construction tax was applicable Byzantine times for each stack).
Byzantine frescoes have not survived in the temple. Today’s murals of Fotis Kontoglou due to a very successful aesthetic result. Not so successful the parts painted by his students later.